Explanatory Notes to the Forthcoming Writings

I’d like to think the world is a good place. Hell, I’d like to think the world is a bad place. I’d like to form some sort of opinion about the world besides apathy. I’ve seen the good, I’ve seen the bad; the cocktail of mixed emotions it gives me has left me feeling a bit disillusioned. That’s why I don’t feel anything for the world. Apathy by definition is neither good nor bad, and it makes emotional detachment more palpable. It’s the closest thing I’ve ever come to “zen.” Some of you may be thinking that’s not a very good attitude, but that’s kind of the point – it’s no attitude at all. Existentialism ad nauseam.

Now, let me clarify something; when I talk about “the world,” I’m speaking of the human condition, as opposed to the earth or even humanity. I’ve found joy in people and in nature (though I keep my relationship with each at a comfortable minimum – it might not be for everyone, but it works for me). I believe in taking care of our planet and the people thereon. But I’m weary of optimism. Any time I feel faith in anything, I find myself disappointed with everything.

Let’s get one thing straight; this is supposed to be happy blog. This is about finding humor (or, at least, mild amusement) in the absurdities of life. When tragedy strikes, you have two options; you can laugh or you can cry, and laughter is really more enjoyable.

A good cry is nice every once in a while. It’s healthy! Don’t fight it! Microwave some popcorn, watch The Land Before Time, and let nature take its course. But you can’t get caught up in it. You can’t go through your high school yearbook and think of all the missed opportunities. Well, you can (far be it from me to tell you how to live your life), but that’s no way to live your life. Sure, Chinese food can make a good breakfast (and it is – don’t eff with me on this, I know from experience), but you’ve got to keep some of that to yourself. Depression can be funny. What is comedy but a mask for tragedy? To a degree, all humor is rooted in pain.

Leave a comment